Call for 2012 Silva Award Nominations

The Annual General Meeting of Orienteering USA will be held on Saturday, September 1st as part of the Western States Orienteering Championships in Laramie, Wyoming. One of the highlights of the day’s (and night’s) activities will be the naming of the recipients of the Silva and Golden Troll Awards.

It’s now time for Orienteering USA’s member clubs to determine whom they would like to nominate for these prestigious honors. There are many orienteers giving a lot of themselves to advance orienteering in this country. The Silva and Golden Troll Awards programs are a wonderful way of honoring these people. We hope that you and other members of your club take part this year by submitting a nomination for either or both programs.

Please note that the nomination deadline for these awards is Friday, August 10th, 2012. Nominations for the Silva Award go to Jon Nash (jonnash [at] while Golden Troll nominations go to Clare Durand (rules [at]


Silva Award

Call for Nominations


The Silva Award is given annually to an orienteer who, along with being a member of Orienteering USA, has demonstrated outstanding service to orienteering in the United States over the past five years. The recipient need not be a terrific orienteer, and orienteering skill is not considered in determining the award winner. The essential quality of every winner has been service to promoting and sustaining orienteering, to making the sport work in this country, and in helping to build the organizations needed to make orienteering successful.


The only Orienteering USA members who are not eligible to win the award are the five members of Orienteering USA’s Executive Committee (the President, the three Vice Presidents, and the Secretary) who will do the final voting. (Peter Goodwin, Greg Lennon, Pete Dady, Louis Pataki, and Donna Fluegel are ineligible this year).

Rules for Nominations:

Each Orienteering USA member club may make one nomination. In addition, each member of the Orienteering USA Board of Directors may also submit a nomination. Individual members may not submit nominations. Any orienteer can prepare a nomination, but the actual submission must come from an Orienteering USA club or member of Orienteering USA’s Board of Directors.

How to Nominate:

There is no required format you should follow when making a nomination. However, should you choose to submit a nomination, please be as comprehensive as possible, as to what your nominee has done during the past five years, and why you feel these accomplishments are important and make the nominee worthy for the Silva Award. The information you provide is the information that will be presented to the OUSA Executive Committee, who will conduct a vote amongst its members to determine this year's winner.

Nominations made in previous years are not automatically carried over, although clubs and Orienteering USA Board members are certainly free to nominate the same OUSA member that they did last year. (Updating a previously submitted nomination is fine; rewriting it from scratch is not necessary). Clubs are not restricted to nominating only their own members but are free to nominate any Orienteering USA member belonging to any club.

A club submits a nomination by having one of its officers or directors send it, by e-mail, to jonnash [at], indicating that they are a club official and the nomination being submitted is that of the club. Something along the lines of "As Secretary of XYZ Orienteering Club, I'd like to submit our club's Silva Award nomination" is fine.

Please submit nominations or questions via email to Jon Nash – jonnash [at]

Nomination Deadline:

The deadline for submitting nominations is Friday, August 10, 2012. However, it is always appreciated if a club, or Orienteering USA Board member, submitting a nomination does so in advance of that deadline. There will be just over three weeks between the published deadline to submit nominations, and the date of the presentation of the award. During that time, final voting must occur along with all the preparation for presenting the award at the Annual General Meeting. If nominations have been submitted in advance of the published deadline, they can be formatted and ready to e-mail to the Executive Committee shortly after the nomination deadline passes. If a number of nominations aren't received until the night of August 10th, then an already tight time line gets stretched even tighter.

Previous Silva Award Winners:

1985 -- Peter Gagarin and Cindy Fuller
1986 -- Joannie Gunther
1987 -- Russ Bruce
1988 -- Kent and Caroline Ringo
1989 -- Larry and Sara Mae Berman
1990 -- Robin Shannonhouse
1991 -- Al Smith
1992 -- Rick Worner and Linda Kohn
1993 -- Jon Nash
1994 -- Per Stensby
1995 -- Linda Taylor
1996 -- Don Davis
1997 -- Don Tall
1998 -- Cathy Yekenevicz
1999 -- Mikell Platt
2000 -- Frank Campbell
2001 -- J-J Coté
2002 –- Evan Custer
2003 -- Liz Kotowski
2004 -- Mark and Mary Frank
2005 -- Bruce McAlister
2006 -- Vladimir Gusiatnikov
2007 -- Betsy Hawes
2008 -- Barb and Mark Dominie
2009 -- David Irving
2010 -- Mike Minium
2011 -- Eric Weyman

Those of you who recognize some or all of the winner's names no doubt see that the contributions they have made have covered a wide spectrum. Some winners are associated more with club and regional activities. Others are more linked with national and international ones. Some were recognized for their contributions to an event, while others were chosen for their work with a project, program or Orienteering USA itself. Any and all contributions to American orienteering may be considered.

posted 12 June 2012