2014 Silva and Golden Troll Service Award Nominations

Silva and Golden Troll Service Awards Nominations Sought for 2014

The 2014 Annual General Meeting of Orienteering USA will be held on Saturday, August 9th as part of the U.S. Classic Championships weekend in Lake George, Colorado. One of the highlights of the AGM will be the naming of the recipients of the Silva and Golden Troll Service Awards. It’s now time for Orienteering USA’s member clubs to determine whom they would like to nominate for these prestigious honors. There are a lot of orienteers giving a lot of themselves to advance orienteering in this country. The Silva and Golden Troll Awards programs are a wonderful way of honoring these people. We hope that you, and other members of your club, take part this year by submitting a nomination for either or both programs.

Please note that the nomination deadline for the Silva Award is Monday, June 23rd, 2014, which is coming up quickly. Nominations for the Silva Award go to Susan DeWitt (skdewitt [AT] snet.net).

The Golden Troll nominations are due Monday, July 21st, and should be e-mailed to Clare Durand (rules [AT] orienteeringusa.org).

Silva Service Award
Call for Nominations


The Silva Award is given annually to an orienteer who, along with being a member of Orienteering USA, has demonstrated outstanding service to orienteering in the United States over the past five years. The recipient need not be a terrific orienteer, and orienteering skill is not considered in determining the award winner. The essential quality of every winner has been service to promoting and sustaining orienteering, to making the sport work in this country, and in helping to build the organizations needed to make orienteering successful.


Previous winners are not eligible to win again. In addition, the members of Orienteering USA’s Executive Committee are ineligible (the President, the three Vice Presidents, and the Secretary) as they will do the final voting. (Peter Goodwin, Greg Lennon, Charlie Bleau, Louis Pataki, and Donna Fluegel are ineligible this year).

Rules for Nominations:

Each Orienteering USA member club may make one nomination. In addition, each member of the Orienteering USA Board of Directors may also submit a nomination. Individual members may not submit nominations. Any orienteer can prepare a nomination, but the actual submission must come from an Orienteering USA club or member of Orienteering USA’s Board of Directors.

How to Nominate:

There is no required format you should follow when making a nomination. However, should you choose to submit a nomination, please be as comprehensive as possible, as to what your nominee has done during the past five years, and why you feel these accomplishments are important and make the nominee worthy for the Silva Award. The information you provide is the information that will be presented to the OUSA Executive Committee, who will conduct a vote amongst its members to determine this year's winner.

Nominations made in previous years are not automatically carried over, although clubs and Orienteering USA Board members are certainly free to nominate the same OUSA member that they did last year. (Updating a previously submitted nomination is fine; rewriting it from scratch is not necessary). Clubs are not restricted to nominating only their own members but are free to nominate any Orienteering USA member belonging to any club.

A club submits a nomination by having one of its officers or directors send it, by e-mail, to skdewitt [AT] snet.net, indicating that they are a club official and the nomination being submitted is that of the club. Something along the lines of 'As Secretary of XYZ Orienteering Club, I'd like to submit our club's Silva Award nomination' is fine.

Please submit nominations or questions via e-mail to Susan DeWitt – skdewitt [AT] snet.net

Nomination Deadline:

The deadline for submitting nominations is Monday, June 23rd. However, it is always appreciated if a club, or Orienteering USA Board member, submitting a nomination does so in advance of that deadline.

Previous Silva Award Winners:

1985 — Peter Gagarin and Cindy Fuller
1986 — Joannie Gunther
1987 — Russ Bruce
1988 — Kent and Caroline Ringo
1989 — Larry and Sara Mae Berman
1990 — Robin Shannonhouse
1991 — Al Smith
1992 — Rick Worner and Linda Kohn
1993 — Jon Nash
1994 — Per Stensby
1995 — Linda Taylor
1996 — Don Davis
1997 — Don Tall
1998 — Cathy Yekenevicz
1999 — Mikell Platt
2000 — Frank Campbell
2001 — J-J Coté
2002 — Evan Custer
2003 — Liz Kotowski
2004 — Mark and Mary Frank
2005 — Bruce McAlister
2006 — Vladimir Gusiatnikov
2007 — Betsy Hawes
2008 — Barb and Mark Dominie
2009 — David Irving
2010 — Mike Minium
2011 — Eric Weyman
2012 — Valerie Meyer
2013 — Ken Walker, Jr.

Those of you recognizing some or all of the winner's names no doubt see that the contributions they have made have covered a wide spectrum. Some winners are associated more with club and regional activities. Others are more linked with national and international ones. Some were recognized for their contributions to an event, while others were chosen for their work with a project, program or Orienteering USA itself. Any and all contributions to American orienteering may be considered.

Orienteering USA
Golden Troll Service Recognition Award
Call for Nominations


The purpose of the Orienteering USA Golden Troll Award is to recognize those individuals who have provided exceptional service to the sport of orienteering that extends beyond the local club level.

Rules for Nominations:

Each chartered club may nominate one person annually for the Golden Troll Award. The nominee does not need to be a member of that club; they may be from another club. Nominations are deemed to come from the primary club of the person making the nomination. In the event that more than one nomination is received from the same club, the volunteer recognitions committee will determine which single nomination from that club is the most deserving for that year. There is no limit to the number of clubs that may have an awardee each year. Awards will be presented to every club's nominee provided they meet the award criteria.

Any individual may only receive the Golden Troll Award once.

Golden Troll Criteria:

Please be sure that the description of service for the nominee clearly meets the two following criteria.

  1. Service is as a volunteer (no profit was made in performing the service)
  2. Service extends beyond the club level

Examples include serving on national board or committees, holding key positions at A-meets, putting on training camps or events that serve a regional or national base, etc.

How to Nominate:

Please submit nominations via e-mail to Clare Durand – rules [AT] orienteeringusa.org

Nominations must be received by July 21st to be eligible for a 2014 Golden Troll Award.

Include the following information:

  • Nominee's name and Club
  • Name, Title, and Club of person submitting the nomination
  • Description of the nominee's volunteer service to orienteering. Please be sure to address both required criteria.

Previous Golden Troll Award Winners:

2013 - Dick Arnett (OCIN), Clare Durand (LAOC), Vladimir Stemkovski (BOK), Gavin Wyatt-Mair (BAOC)

2012 - Neil Dobbs (HVO), Jay Hann (BAOC), Mihai Ibanescu (BOK), Bob Putnam (FLO), Joel Thomson (LAOC)

2011 - Ruth Bromer (BOK), Bob Cooley (BAOC), Valerie Meyer (QOC), David Waller (OCIN)

2010 - Bob Frey (OCIN), Joseph Huberman (BOK), Sherry Litasi (RMOC), George Minarik (BAOC), Janet Porter (DVOA), Jeff Saeger (NEOC), Joanne Sankus (NEOC)

This list shows that some clubs have made good use of the Golden Troll program to recognize their members, but many worthy volunteers are still not on this list. Every club is encouraged to make a nomination showing their appreciation for key national level volunteers.