U.S. Junior Team Retains Future Champions Cup at NAOC 2016

The Future Champions Cup is awarded to the nation with the top Junior Team at the North American Orienteering Championships (NAOC), an IOF-sanctioned Regional Championship event held in even years.

At NAOC 2016 in Hanover, New Hampshire, USA juniors successfully defended the Cup, which they had previously won in 2014 (in 2012, the inaugural year of the competition, Canadian and USA juniors tied). Twenty-one USA juniors from diverse locations contributed to the victory, and, in recognition of their accomplishment, their names will be engraved on the Cup.

Brigitte Bordelon, USMAOC
Margaret Bowerman, DVOA
Evalin Brautigam, WCOC
Isabel Bryant, CSU
Siri Christopherson, COC
Tyra Christopherson, COC
Julia Doubson, BAOC
Austin Fowler, GAOC
Ethan Hall, NEOC
Will Hubsch, LAOC
Michael Laraia, MNOC
Thomas Laraia, MNOC
Turner Leigh, QOC
Aidan Minto, ICO
Kestrel Owens, GMOC
Todd Park, SOAR
Sarah Petersen, BAOC
Anton Salmenkyla, CSU
Caroline Sandbo, COC
Dierdre Young, HVO
Peter Zakrevski, HVO

Congratulations for a job well done!

Guy Olsen
Orienteering USA Junior Team Executive Steering Committee (JTESC)

posted 6 Oct 2016