Vote for 2017 Orienteer of the Year Awards!

Voting is now open for the 2017 U.S. Orienteer of the Year Competitive Awards until 11:59pm, February 14th!

Call for 2017 Competitive Award Nominations

Nominations Open for 2017 Orienteer of the Year Competitive Awards

The Competitive Award Program’s goals are to recognize and reward outstanding competitive accomplishments by U.S. orienteers at the end of every year.

2017 President's Award Recipients


Greg has been a member of OUSA’s Board of Directors for the past 11 years, 8 of them as a VP. He has worked tiressly to advance the technical capabilities of OUSA, including managing the OUSA website, payment systems, servers, domains, online membership database, and much more. You have Greg to thank for the ability to pay your dues on-line. He has also volunteered these talents, and much more, to his local club, Quantico Orienteering Club. Greg, together with his wife, Kathleen, have truly helped to make QOC the powerful club it is today.

2017 Silva Award Winner, Bill Gookin

Bill Gookin, San Diego Orienteering Club

One of the fundamental reasons for the success of orienteering in Southern California is the tireless work that Bill Gookin has contributed over many years. As one of the founders of orienteering in the area, he helped to found the clubs and established high-level orienteering events that now bring the joy of orienteering to so many people. To this day, orienteering clubs have access to some parks only because of the relationships Bill cultivated with the governing authorities.

2017 Golden Service Award Recipients


Ron Birks' dedication, effort and accomplishments in furthering the sport over the past 10 years have been truly exceptional. All of his work is on a volunteer basis. His scope has been all of Arizona (big state, two clubs) plus some regional/national involvement. And he has participated in many national and international events.

2017 Wilson Community Growth Grant Awardees Announced


2017 IWA: Siri Christopherson Wins Wilson Award


2016 OUSA Competitive Award Winners Announced

The Annual OUSA Orienteering Awards are given to American orienteers in several categories for outstanding competitive performance over the course of the past year. The Awards Committee members are Susan Grandjean, Boris Granovskiy, Linda Kohn, Patrick Nuss, and Ken Walker Sr.

2016 Silva Award Winner, Barbara Bryant

The Silva Award recognizes a person who has made a huge contribution to orienteering in the United States. Clubs make nominations and then the Executive Committee votes to make the award. This year, the award is given to a person who has been (and I am sure will continue to be) a driving force in the development and growth of Orienteering in the United States.

2016 President's Award Recipients

This year’s President’s awards go to people who work at the local level but have all made large contributions at the national level. Over the years, these people have worked hard to make things work smoothly but often what they do is not easily seen because much of it is in the background. I will add, however, that over the years, I have had the help of many, many volunteers who have worked very hard to make orienteering better.